The First Cycle

dscn0555

Hello family and friends!

It’s been a while since I last updated my blog. So many great things happened in the mission field that, sometimes, I lose track of time. Everything is happening so fast and I’m really grateful to our Heavenly Father for helping me overcome all the challenges in missionary work.

Okay! So, what happened in the last few weeks, you ask? Guess what! I just finished my first cycle! Woohoo! Now, what’s a cycle? A cycle is equivalent to six weeks; thus, I’ve been in the mission field for a full six weeks. Can you believe it? For me, it’s hard to grasp the reality that 2 months have passed since I entered the MTC. I feel like it’s only been yesterday when I first received my call to serve. Time truly runs fast when you’re working hard and enjoying every experience you encounter in the field.

Last week, my nanay (trainer), Sister Velasco, has finished her 18-month service. She just got home last January 19, 2017; and now, she’s back with her family in Bicol. So, for the next cycle, it would just be Sister Argañosa (my other nanay) and I who would continue the work here in Cabatuan.

With every passing week I’ve had in the mission field, I continue to learn and improve to become an efficient and effective missionary each day. There are a lot of trials as well, but the love that my companions, the members and leaders, and the people of Cabatuan have shown, has given me greater understanding and love for those around me.

For the past weeks, we have taught people about the gospel of Jesus Christ. It truly is a faith builder, and it surprises me how people have had a mighty change of heart and are willing to enter into a covenant with our Heavenly Father. These experiences have given me a confirmation that I am worthy to serve my Father in Heaven. Some days I wonder if I’m really up to this task, but everyday, still, He has shown me that He will do the rest if I just keep doing my best.

I remember the story of Alma and Amulek in the Book of Mormon. These two great men have been once led astray because of the philosophies of men. Alma, during his younger years, has attempted to destroy the church, while Amulek, has more than once rejected the call to serve. But because of the gospel that brought about a mighty change of heart to both of them, Alma and Amulek have become true consecrated missionaries, who are willing to give their all to tell other people about the Father’s love and the atoning sacrifice of His Beloved Son, Jesus Christ.

Each of us can be missionaries, even if we’re not full-time. It is just a matter of desire and love for other people, coupled with a true understanding of the gospel. Like what it says in Jacob 1:19, “And we did magnify our office unto the Lord, taking upon us the responsibility, answering the sins of the people upon our own heads if we did not teach them the word of God with all diligence . . .”. This is true; and we should work hand in hand (missionaries – members – leaders) “to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man (Moses 1:39)”.

Sister Bordeos
“I just can’t live without doing my best!”

PICTURES:

Sister Velasco’s Last Daydscn0575

District Meeting with the Sister Training Leaders (Sister Bas, Sister Mora, ME, Sister Argañosa, Sister Songcuan [STL], Sister Sauder [STL])

dscn0580

Me and Sister Argañosa at our apartment

dscn0585

Happy Birthday Sister Argañosa (January 24, 2017)

dscn0586

Sister Argañosa’s Birthday Celebration with the Cusili Family and Quitola Family

dscn0587

Leave a Reply

