A New Calling

DSCN0791

Hi everyone!

The 3rd cycle of my mission has just begun and there have been a lot of surprises!

Last March 1, Sister Argañosa has finally finished her 18-month journey in the mission field. Yup! I’ve already sent three people home, haha 😀 First, it was Sister Velasco; then, Sister Wiiri, and now, it was Sister Argañosa’s turn to leave the mission life and to start living as a returned missionary. Now that my “nanays” (trainers) have left, I’ve wondered who my next companion would be. I’m very eager to learn from my follow-up trainer, and I’m really excited to show her the Cabatuan area.

However, Heavenly Father does have other plans. Two Sundays ago (February 26), President Hiatt called and told me that I was going to train a new missionary. I can’t believe it! He asked me how I felt, and there was about a few seconds of silence before I finally told him that I was surprised and that I was feeling nervous.

So, when March 1 came up, I not only sent my “nanay” home, but I also welcomed my “anak” (trainee). Now, I would like to introduce you to Sister Balagtas. She’s from Tarlac City. And nope, she said that she’s not related to Francisco Balagtas 🙂 Actually, she’s temporarily assigned here in the Philippines Cauayan Mission, until she gets her visa for the Australia Brisbane Mission. She’s a wonderful missionary and she has a lot of potential to be a great one!

To me, being called as a trainer is a sacred trust that Heavenly Father has given. It doesn’t mean that I’m actually better than anyone else. In fact, I’m relatively new to the mission life as well, and I’m still learning and improving each day, so I was quite anxious on what to do. But what I know is that if we rely on the promptings of the Holy Ghost, we can do anything!

I remember Alma’s counsel to his son, Helaman, in the Book of Mormon. He said in Alma 36:3, “And now, O my son Helaman, behold, thou art in thy youth, and therefore, I beseech of thee that thou wilt hear my words and learn of me; for I do know that whosoever shall put their trust in God shall be supported in their trials, and their troubles, and their afflictions, and shall be lifted up at the last day”. I know that if we just listen to our leaders, and trust in our Father in Heaven, we don’t have to worry about anything else. And now that a new challenge has been bestowed upon me, like Jesus Christ, I would say “not my will, but Thine be done”.

Sister Bordeos
“I just can’t live without doing my best!”

 

PICTURES:

Farewell to Sister Argañosa (my other “nanay”)

DSCN0783

Welcome to Sister Balagtas (my “anak”)

DSCN0789

One thought on “A New Calling

  1. Russel Joy Tripoli says:

    Hi sister Bordeos, congratulations, I know you’ll be doing great in the mission field… I miss you… But I don’t want to see you yet… 😊 we don’t need you here just yet… Love you much and take care always…

    Like

Leave a Reply

